Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Matt Portz

State Farm® Insurance Agent

Matt Portz

4.9 out of 5 (100 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Profile photo of Amy Dear

Amy Dear

September 14, 2022

5  out of  5
"I have used Matt Portz for years. I have always gotten excellent rates and customer service. The team truly cares about their customers. 😁"
Profile photo of Eric Kessler

Eric Kessler

September 14, 2022

5  out of  5
"Sandy was a great help with personalizing my insurance needs"
Profile photo of Bevery A. McClure

Bevery A. McClure

August 22, 2022

5  out of  5
"Very knowledgeable as well as caring office. Matt Portz has managed my house & car insurance for years, I trust him completely. Many years ago I had a small house fire Matt and his office stood by me, everything went smoothly. Always helpful when I have questions. Will stay with Matt always. Good people!"
Profile photo of Natalie Barraza

Natalie Barraza

August 21, 2022

5  out of  5
"I worked with Sandy to switch my car and renters insurance over to State Farm. It was super easy and Sandy was so kind and patient in answering all my questions. I'm really happy and excited to have insurance coverage that works for me and at a way better price. Thanks Sandy, Matt and the rest of the State Farm team!"
Profile photo of Taylor Hollingshead

Taylor Hollingshead

August 18, 2022

5  out of  5
"I recently had my catalytic converters stolen off of my truck. I called Matt’s office with my claim and had a check the same day. Sandy was great helping me understand the process! I can’t say enough nice things about this group. Thanks"
Profile photo of Robert Melendez

Robert Melendez

August 12, 2022

5  out of  5
"My family and I been with state farm for a long time, since we moved to Texas from New York. I tried comparing other quotes from other insurance companies, and no one can get better quotes than state farm. They are a reliable company. This one time I was involved in a car accident and I called them right away they walked me through the whole process, from the tow truck to the claim."
Profile photo of William Maynard

William Maynard

August 6, 2022

5  out of  5
"Matt and his team provide superior customer service. They are friendly, kind and are very knowledgeable. They are my go to experts for auto and home insurance!"
Profile photo of David Mason

David Mason

August 3, 2022

5  out of  5
"Matt Portz has handled all of our insurance needs since we moved here 20 years ago. He knows his stuff and he doesn't try to sell us coverage we don't need. I trust him on all matters related to what insurance we need and what we don't need. Everyone in his office is like that: they all know what they're doing, they are efficient and friendly in servicing our account. Never had any problem with a claim. And they do provide a real personal touch. They treat you like a neighbor, not a number or just a nameless faceless customer in their database. I would recommend them to anyone who asks."
Profile photo of Carole Lathrop

Carole Lathrop

July 28, 2022

5  out of  5
"I've been a State Farm client for over 30 years. I recently moved from Illinois to Denton, TX & Matt Portz -State Farm has just cotinued to provide the EXCELLENT service I've experienced with State Farm. Mr. Portz's office, very patiently, dealt with the demands of Chase Mortgage & successfully made it possible to secure my loan & purchase my dream home in Texas. The entire Matt Portz office staff is very knowledgeable, courteous, & helpful & a pleasure to deal with."
Profile photo of Zack Hauser

Zack Hauser

July 27, 2022

5  out of  5
"State Farm truly is amazing and like a good neghibor they surely are there. I’ve had multiple other insurance providers and State Farm is the best hands down in my opinion. I’d like to give a shout out to Becky out of the Matt Portz office for helping me out. She rocks!! As Joe Dirt would say keep on keep’in on!"
Profile photo of Henry Gibbons

Henry Gibbons

July 27, 2022

5  out of  5
"My recent meeting with Matt Portz to review my policies was cordial, unhurried, informative, and thorough. My claims with State Farm (fortunately relatively few in number over the past 41 years) have always been handled promptly, professionally and to my full satisfaction. I couldn’t be more pleased."
Profile photo of Jason Williams

Jason Williams

July 18, 2022

5  out of  5
"Reached out to Matt and his team about a year ago. We’d been with USAA insurance for many years, but their prices continued creeping up. Told Matt my biggest concern with changing from USAA was customer service. USAA is top notch. Not only has Matt and his team exceeded our expectations on customer service, they’ve saved us hundreds of dollars per month. Thanks Matt!"
Profile photo of Janet Baria

Janet Baria

July 16, 2022

5  out of  5
"Thank you, Sandy for always answering my questions and sharing your expertise. You've been my go-to for I don't know how many years. I've had my insurance with Matt's office ever since he bought the business from Mr Shoopman. And my 4 children as well! You're the best."
Profile photo of Dawn Labosco

Dawn Labosco

July 15, 2022

5  out of  5
"Highly recommend. They always go out of their way to find me the best coverage and the lowest rates. Great customer service, calls are always returned promptly."
Profile photo of Jeff Fitzgerald

Jeff Fitzgerald

June 30, 2022

5  out of  5
"Debi and the rest of Matt’s team treat us like family! Thanks again and again."
Profile photo of zuri thomas

zuri thomas

June 30, 2022

5  out of  5
"Love This location !! All agents are amazing Especiallg Sandy !"
Profile photo of Rhonda Garland

Rhonda Garland

June 29, 2022

5  out of  5
"We’ve been insured with the State Farm, Matt Portz agency, since moving to Denton in 2009. From that initial experience, we have received excellent and friendly service. From renters insurance, home owners, auto’s, life insurance and an umbrella policy, this agency has us covered. Sandy is the office manager and goes above and beyond to help us, and is always so professional and very pleasant to talk with. Matt is great at explaining the ins and outs of insurance coverages, and provides policy reviews that gives us peace of mind. If I could give them more stars I surely would do so!"
Profile photo of Donna Moore

Donna Moore

June 28, 2022

5  out of  5
"Matt has been our insurance provider for 4 years and we couldn’t be happier with the service from him and his staff."
Profile photo of Alicia Calva

Alicia Calva

June 23, 2022

5  out of  5
"I have been insured with them for 10 years, they are always friendly, I trust them, they are always there to help me, I totally recommend them."
Profile photo of Kristi Lawler

Kristi Lawler

June 22, 2022

5  out of  5
"Matt and his staff are amazing! Cannot recommend them highly enough. I would give them six stars if I could!"
Profile photo of Holly Nelson

Holly Nelson

June 9, 2022

5  out of  5
"Matt is great! Fantastic services, excellent communication and explanation of services and costs. I’m slowly recruiting all of my friends and family to State Farm over the years, because they’re just the best and their prices cannot be beat."
Profile photo of Chad Steadman

Chad Steadman

June 7, 2022

5  out of  5
"There's a reason this office has such high reviews, and it's because the staff who work here are incredibly dedicated, friendly, and effective at helping people. I've been with this office since 2017, and I will not be switching agents any time soon."
Profile photo of oyuki martinez

oyuki martinez

May 27, 2022

5  out of  5
"Usually I don’t write reviews but I wanted to thank Matt and his staff especially Debby and Teresa. Debby was very patient with me in the process of my claim, she answer every question nicely and she helped make everything easier and faster. Thank you Teresa for always answering all of my phone calls nicely and respectfully. Just wanted to thank y’all for all your help and hard work and if y’all want amazing service Debby is the one to go to! If I could give y’all ten stars I would!!"
Profile photo of Shelbi Sloane

Shelbi Sloane

May 26, 2022

5  out of  5
"I’ve been working with the team at Matt Portz for years and they have always been wonderful to work with! They are there to quickly answer any questions I have and I can’t recommend them enough."
Profile photo of Anna Ramos

Anna Ramos

May 24, 2022

5  out of  5
"I’m really happy whi Matt Portz they are really profesionals and they treat u so well I feel so comfortable whith them and how they help me every time I need and Debi she always answer the phone so sweetly I love the way she answer and help over the phone I highly recommend matt Portz State Farm I’m so glad I have my insurance whith them 😍"